Author Topic: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast  (Read 2719 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mgee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« on: January 29, 2009, 09:42:51 PM »
Does anyone here know about these organisations? I think they are linked.

I don't want to cast nasturtiums (and if I am pls delete this thread) but it appears they are running a website (or several) that offers a free pc scan that seems to download badwares then make you pay for removal. (Where have we heard that before?)

I saw the ad for finallyfast.com.au on Austar (non-metro Australian subscription television, allied with Foxtel) today and immediately alarm bells started ringing.

I searched for other mentions of finallyfast and the only people not saying nasty things about this product, group and sites are the owners.

Plus, they claim they have been featured in Newsweek, The Wall Street Journal and Forbes magazines. I'm worried that if they really were featured, even if what was said was negative, then they are not lying about being featured...

What would be a good response to such an ad? I'm emailing Austar today with my concerns. I hope they'll check out the organisation and find the truth and react appropriately and responsibly.
"...love builds up." (1 Corinthians 8:1)

Offline Eric the Red

  • ISO/IEC 27001:2005
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1611
  • Would somebody please pass me a beer!
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 10:00:02 PM »
I suggest that you read up on it, in particular check out this thread and make your own decision.

Also, I suggest that you contact AusCERT if you think that the service offered is not up to scratch, they would be interested in any alleged improper behaviour.

Lastly, we don't chuck nasturtiums around here, we go for roses  :rose:

 :lol:
"The time to start running is around about the "e" in "Hey, you!" "
Proud member Since 2004 

The information I provide is provided "AS IS" without warranty, and confers no rights.

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11536
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • Security Garden
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 10:34:03 PM »
Hi, Mel!

They may have been "featured" in Newsweek but that feature could have been a paid advertisement.

{{{HUGS}}} and more :rose:'s for you.
,  

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mgee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 10:52:32 PM »
 :rose: :rose: :rose:

Thanks Eric for your advice :)
I stand by my initial response to the ad of running screaming from the room to warn all and sundry.  I notice the dates of the initial post there and :O it's old!  Wow, I can't believe it's still going.

Thankfully I didn't run this scamn myself so my pc/mac/firefox/ie/linux/tardus is safe from them.

I just wrote an email to AusCERT.  They look like they really want to stamp out computer bad behaviour.

Hi Corrine! *hugs*

Yes, "featured" could mean so many things.

Hehe there were a couple of other sites that mentioned this group and one showed the ad that had been taped off the telly - the ad wasn't cut at the end properly so a second or two of a chicken burger ad came on.  People were pretty impressed with the burger! 

Oooh, being responsible is tiring.
"...love builds up." (1 Corinthians 8:1)

Offline mgee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2009, 12:11:56 AM »
 :mitch: I got a response from AusCERT:

mgee,
No problems with emailing us, we are glad to help. In regards to finallyfast.com.au, I have done some quick research to see what people are saying about the site. I agree that it does sound a bit fishy. We have recently received reports about companies contacting members of the public stating that there are errors in the computer and offering to fix it for a fee. It is possible however that finallyfast is a legitmate service.

As far as investigating goes, I could try to get in contact with some of our Microsoft contacts to determine if they are indeed a certified partner.

If you are having troubles with your computer, there are a number of anti-virus companies that have online scanners that you could use. One such example is F-Secure's online services available at:

http://support.f-secure.com/enu/home/onlineservices/

If we can determine that this site is involved in malicious activity we will do what we can to get it shut down. Regards,


So, I'm feeling a bit special that my message was read by a human and that I got a personalised reply.  When I reread my initial email to AusCERT I saw that it was a bit over-the-top accusatory without any room for debate.  But, thankfully, this guy was very calm and offered an alternative solution in an attempt to allay my fears.

All I can do now is hope truth prevails :)
"...love builds up." (1 Corinthians 8:1)

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11536
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • Security Garden
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2009, 01:55:21 AM »
Bravo!!!  I am proud of you. 
,  

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline Eric the Red

  • ISO/IEC 27001:2005
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1611
  • Would somebody please pass me a beer!
Re: QUERY: Ascentive and finallyfast
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2009, 06:12:27 PM »
Mel,

That's exactly the reason why I suggested AusCERT, for a Government CERT they are really helpful and are always willing to listen. I just wish that all the CERT's would take a leaf out of their book.

EtR
"The time to start running is around about the "e" in "Hey, you!" "
Proud member Since 2004 

The information I provide is provided "AS IS" without warranty, and confers no rights.