Author Topic: Experience with Windows SP3.....  (Read 11895 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline IAMSKINZ

  • LandzDown Team
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 308
  • I ain't got a lick of sense..
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2008, 07:42:51 AM »
 :gwave:
ShutDown, ....well holditnow.
Insure that U R not admin....
Then shut down, boot to safe mode, choose yerself ifn U can (Sum varieties of XP do not differiant... tate) between the to once changed.
I mean if winnerz included the profile in the WMCP fhen the security becomes a issue, and if this is XP Home or Media, then arguements will follow from those more able to guide the standardz excepted y all of thud\s.
I ain't got a lick of sense..

Offline techie

  • LzD Friends
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2008, 05:33:30 PM »
I came across this in my travels.

- http://www.channelregister.co.uk/2008/05/1...ft_blames_oems/
13 May 2008 - "...the endless reboot cock-up reported by many XP customers after installing SP3 was not a new issue... the snafu, in part, relates to original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) – understood to include the world’s biggest computer vendor Hewlett-Packard – loading the wrong "Sysprepped" XP image on to machines with non-Intel chipsets... AMD has responded to our request for comment – perhaps unsurprisingly, it sang from the same hymn sheet as Microsoft on the service pack blunder:
“The problem is the result of applying a non-AMD processor Windows operating system image to AMD processor-based PCs; this is a configuration issue only and not an HP platform, AMD processor, or operating system issue,” it said. However, the chip maker also reckons that Microsoft is working on a fix that should be available in the next few days..."

This may help for those who do not want to wait for the MS fix.


Former MS manager offers fix for XP SP3 'endless reboot'

https://msinfluentials.com/blogs/jesper/archive/2008/05/08/does-your-amd-based-computer-boot-after-installing-xp-sp3.aspx

http://www.computerworld.com.au/index.php/id;1524071741


Offline dickw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Beautiful one day, perfect the next
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2008, 12:44:21 AM »
More interesting reading I came across re SP3.

http://www.itbusiness.ca/it/client/en/home/news.asp?id=48537
Learning each day
"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. - Samuel Johnson" (1709 - 1784)

Offline techie

  • LzD Friends
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2008, 02:05:13 AM »
I ran into this problem with a Dell running Norton 360 yesterday, all the hardware icons and network icons were missing.. I had to uninstall SP3 and then uninstall Norton 360, then run a restore on Windows.

After running the restore I made sure the system was clean, ran SP3 then reinstalled Norton 360 and the system ran fine without any errors.

I still personally hate Symantec's products, but that's my option.

Offline Aaron Hulett

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Schrödinger's cat walks into a bar... and doesn't.
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2008, 02:29:52 AM »
Symantec tells users: Disable protection before XP SP3 upgrade
Now says its SymProtect feature partly to blame for Windows registry corruption
http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&articleId=9089658&intsrc=news_ts_head

Offline techie

  • LzD Friends
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2008, 03:28:02 AM »
I ran into this problem with a Dell running Norton 360 yesterday, all the hardware icons and network icons were missing.. I had to uninstall SP3 and then uninstall Norton 360, then run a restore on Windows.

After running the restore I made sure the system was clean, ran SP3 then reinstalled Norton 360 and the system ran fine without any errors.

I still personally hate Symantec's products, but that's my option.


I forgot to add that I had to manually clean all references of Norton and Symantec, in the registry, in order to do a clean reinstall of Norton 360.

Offline dickw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Beautiful one day, perfect the next
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2008, 05:17:35 AM »
 

I forgot to add that I had to manually clean all references of Norton and Symantec, in the registry, in order to do a clean reinstall of Norton 360.

Interesting techie, out of two computers when installing SP3 the PC runs Norton's Ghost 12 and I had no trouble  installing SP3.......My Laptop was a different story as already posted.  So Symantec seems not always to blame.....but I agree with you regarding Norton's products, keep clear of them other than Ghost.  It works well for me, then so does Acronis on the Laptop.
Learning each day
"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. - Samuel Johnson" (1709 - 1784)

Offline techie

  • LzD Friends
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2008, 04:45:20 AM »

I forgot to add that I had to manually clean all references of Norton and Symantec, in the registry, in order to do a clean reinstall of Norton 360.

Interesting techie, out of two computers when installing SP3 the PC runs Norton's Ghost 12 and I had no trouble  installing SP3.......My Laptop was a different story as already posted.  So Symantec seems not always to blame.....but I agree with you regarding Norton's products, keep clear of them other than Ghost.  It works well for me, then so does Acronis on the Laptop.

I do like Norton Ghost. The problems seems to be a combination of errors in Norton 360 full security suite and Microsoft. The registry entries were for Norton 360, which is a multiple solution program. In the article listed, it says to disable certain functions of Norton system namely SymProtect. I had disabled the whole Norton program prior to installing SP3. Bottom line uninstall is the real answer and reinstall after update to avoid a bloated registry. Any anti-virus programs should be disabled before installing SP3.

Offline dickw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Beautiful one day, perfect the next
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2008, 10:31:50 PM »
I came upon this quote today from WXPNews which I found interesting.

Quote
Microsoft releases fix for Symantec/SP3 conflict

If you installed XP SP3 on a computer with Symantec's security software, you may have been the victim of a "feature" that caused hundreds or thousands of registry keys to be corrupted, resulting in an empty Device Manager and deletion of network connections. As reported here previously, Symantec had already released a cleanup tool to address the problem, and now Microsoft has released a hotfix for it as well. Read more here:
http://www.wxpnews.com/H958GL/080701-Symantec-SP3-Conflict

So perhaps things are settling down re installation of SP3 for some systems! :2cents:
Learning each day
"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. - Samuel Johnson" (1709 - 1784)

Online Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17881
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #24 on: July 01, 2008, 12:42:33 AM »
Wonderful.  Thanks for posting the link, dickw.  It completes the circle.  http://securitygarden.blogspot.com/2008/06/windows-xp-sp3-hotfix.html

I really didn't care for Computerworld's title of the article. As stated at the Microsoft link:
Quote
This problem may occur when an antivirus application is still running during the installation of Windows XP SP3.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline techie

  • LzD Friends
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2008, 02:07:19 AM »
I came upon this quote today from WXPNews which I found interesting.

Quote
Microsoft releases fix for Symantec/SP3 conflict

If you installed XP SP3 on a computer with Symantec's security software, you may have been the victim of a "feature" that caused hundreds or thousands of registry keys to be corrupted, resulting in an empty Device Manager and deletion of network connections. As reported here previously, Symantec had already released a cleanup tool to address the problem, and now Microsoft has released a hotfix for it as well. Read more here:
http://www.wxpnews.com/H958GL/080701-Symantec-SP3-Conflict

So perhaps things are settling down re installation of SP3 for some systems! :2cents:

Wonderful.  Thanks for posting the link, dickw.  It completes the circle.  http://securitygarden.blogspot.com/2008/06/windows-xp-sp3-hotfix.html

I really didn't care for Computerworld's title of the article. As stated at the Microsoft link:
Quote
This problem may occur when an antivirus application is still running during the installation of Windows XP SP3.

So now we have fixes for the problems after the fact. If a user runs the SP3 update before implementing the update from Symantec and doesn't know about the problem, it leaves them without a Internet connection. This still creates problems for that user because they will not able to connect and get the two updates.  :virus:

Though these are better solutions then what was available, it still leaves the average (less tech savvy) user that thought they had a good solution scratching there heads.

I would be left with a very bad taste in my mouth if I had to pay someone to fix a problem that was created by two major players in the software industry.  :wasntme:

Fortunately the user of the Dell laptop was my mother-in-law, I was already working a problem on the Dell, I resolved the issue because of enough tech experience to back out of it. If she hadn't been visiting, she would have taken it to a shop to get it fixed. :sos:

Online Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17881
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2008, 12:49:12 PM »
From what I can tell, users of Norton who have their software up to date since the May 30 fix by Symantec should not experience the problems encountered by others who went to the download site and installed SP3 and did not disable their antivirus software during the install as the Symantec fix was part of the "Live Update". 


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline dickw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Beautiful one day, perfect the next
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2008, 08:30:57 PM »
This maybe a helpful link if Members are still having problems with downloading and installing Windows SP3
http://www.askvg.com/windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3-setup-error-access-is-denied/
Learning each day
"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. - Samuel Johnson" (1709 - 1784)

Offline Aaron Hulett

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Schrödinger's cat walks into a bar... and doesn't.
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2008, 09:31:00 PM »
Personally I would recommend calling Cusomter Service & Support before messing with ACLs.

Offline R-C

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2826
  • Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    • View Profile
Re: Experience with Windows SP3.....
« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2008, 10:09:48 PM »
thought it might be helpful to post this info here in this thread too just in case someone runs into this problem.

"
XP SP3 Can Kill All Update Installations
- If the service pack is deployed directly on top of XP SP2"
http://news.softpedia.com/news/XP-SP3-Can-Kill-All-Update-Installations-91388.shtml

"Deploying Service Pack 3 directly on top of a fresh installation of Windows XP Service Pack 2 will kill all subsequent updates from Microsoft's servers. The Redmond giant warned that integrating SP3 into the operating system straight after performing a new installation of XP SP2 via Windows Update will result in the failed implementation of any additional releases from Windows Update, Microsoft Update or through Automatic Updates. In this context, installing the third and last service pack for Windows XP onto a freshly-deployed copy of XP SP2 will virtually cut off the operating system from the life-line represented by the company's updates, served either through WU, MU or AU. "

quoted from the article.

that's not good. :blink:
registered Linux user:476595
May inspiration fill your heart and hands, run down your legs onto your feet and cause Spontaneous Dancing! :dance: