MS update KB951748 and ZoneAlarm --- PROBLEM

Started by winchester73, July 08, 2008, 08:29:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

winchester73

For those of you using ZoneAlarm who installed the windows updates today, you probably already know that your internet connection has died.  It appears that KB951748 made changes to the networking files that ZA doesn't see/recognize.

After two hours of messing around, I found an inelegant solution that will work temporarily ... set the Internet Zone Security permission slider from high to medium.  The connection will be restored.

I discovered this after I finally figured out ZA was blocking my internet connections, and turned it off.  Once everything worked again as normal, I started playing around and hit on this lowered permission setting.

I imagine the ZA forum will be full of better solutions, but thought this would get you back up and running in the short term.
Speak softly, but carry a big Winchester ... Winchester Arms Collectors Association member

winchester73

Discussion here:  http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r20759839-MS-update-KB951748-and-ZoneAlarm-PROBLEM

Personally, I'm not uninstalling/reinstalling ZA as suggested, nor am I wiping out all of my custom settings.  For now, since I am hiding behind a router, I'll leave the Medium setting in place and await some sort of resolution after people have had a chance to think about it (without reacting first).
Speak softly, but carry a big Winchester ... Winchester Arms Collectors Association member

Eric the Red

Please note, this update is not applicable to the following so should not appear on Auto Update:

Windows Vista and Windows Vista Service Pack 1

Windows Vista x64 Edition and Windows Vista x64 Edition Service Pack 1

Windows Server 2008 for Itanium-based Systems.
"The time to start running is around about the "e" in "Hey, you!" "

dickw

Greetings all,

I have just completed on this PC downloading and installing

• Update for Windows XP (KB951978)