Author Topic: Malwarebytes will not install?  (Read 11343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ron350

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Malwarebytes will not install?
« on: August 21, 2015, 05:03:45 PM »
  Malwarebytes will not install?

OK my free version of Malwarebytes was 8 months old so I clicked on the update button. It seamed to update and install OK but it displayed this popup. “This app failed to initialize properly (oxc000001d).”

Then when I clicked on the Malwarebytes icon it gave the same popup.
Tried deleting Malwarebytes in Add or Remove Programs and downloading directly from Malwarebytes but with same bad results and same popup?

I have tried this 3 times and the second time it acted like it installed and was displayed the Malwarebytes screen and then it started installing again and o messed up and clicked the yes button without and ended up with the same bad popup at the end.

The third time was just like the first clicked on finish button and got “This app failed to initialize properly (oxc000001d).”



Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2015, 05:07:36 PM »
Reboot and try again.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline MikeW

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2015, 05:21:31 PM »
Hi Ron350.

This is a known problem

Please open the link below and follow the instructions of the Mbam experts.

https://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?/topic/170731-0xc000001d-error-failed-to-initialize/
Win 7 Home Premium  IE11 MSE  Mbam Pro

Offline ron350

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2015, 06:16:35 PM »
Thanks MikeW I will try that later tonight.

Offline Pete!

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5176
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2015, 06:45:18 PM »
Sometimes when MBAM acts up, uninstalling via " Add or Remove Programs" isn't enough.
The " Malwarebytes Clean Uninstall Tool" removes all traces of MBAM, and a clean install becomes possible.
http://downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbam_clean

If you're running a licensed version, make sure you have your license information recorded in a safe place.
This removes everything....


Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2015, 07:01:32 PM »
Quote
Sometimes when MBAM acts up, uninstalling via " Add or Remove Programs" isn't enough.
This is true, I have seen it several times and I have had the issue resolved simply by rebooting. This is because security programs (not just MBAM) set deep hooks in the kernel and in many cases they are not released while Windows is running. So a reboot will often clear it. Not always, but an easy thing to try.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline ron350

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2015, 07:58:25 AM »
Well the Malwarebytes hotfix does not want to open?
This is what it says when I try to open it.

Windows cannot open this file:

File:Malwarebytes_2.1.8_SSE2_Hotfix.exe.part

To open this file, Windows needs to know what program created it. Windows can go online to look it up automatically, or you manually select from a list of programs on your computer.


Offline ky331

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 614
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2015, 09:36:28 AM »
I believe the .part extension means it only downloaded part of the file... the download was somehow interrupted.

Try downloading the file again... see if it makes any difference.   

Offline MikeW

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2015, 12:54:34 PM »
Well the Malwarebytes hotfix does not want to open?
This is what it says when I try to open it.

Windows cannot open this file:

File:Malwarebytes_2.1.8_SSE2_Hotfix.exe.part

To open this file, Windows needs to know what program created it. Windows can go online to look it up automatically, or you manually select from a list of programs on your computer.



Ron

Run the mbam clean uninstaller first (link in Pete's post reboot PC and try the install again.
Win 7 Home Premium  IE11 MSE  Mbam Pro

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2015, 02:25:03 PM »
I agree with Mike but if not prompted to do so, reboot after uninstalling to ensure all hooks are removed.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline ron350

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2015, 04:19:54 PM »
I have no idea what is going on.

The uninstaller will not remove all of Malwarebytes.

The hot fix will not open no mater what I doo.

This old XP computer may be too old to run MBAM.

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2015, 04:37:45 PM »
Quote
The uninstaller will not remove all of Malwarebytes.
Then boot into Safe Mode and try it. And note sometimes that just means the folder remains but it is orphaned - that is, not linked to anything in the Registry.

You may also try RevoUninstaller - it is pretty good at removing stubborn remnants of uninstalled programs. And finally, do you have CCleaner?
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline plodr

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2015, 12:49:58 AM »
Quote
This old XP computer may be too old to run MBAM.
I have the current version running on my XP computer. (Of course I am running a paid version). I just updated the definitions on around August 12th. I fire up XP a day or two after patch Tuesdays and update everything.
I have Office 2007 on the XP partition so it is still being patched.

Offline v_v

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2015, 02:12:55 PM »
ron350,

Remember our exchange back at Freedomlist about 14 months ago?  (" http://www.freedomlist.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=36524 ")  Here is what I suggested with relation to your Firefox problem back then:


Quote
I am not sure where this dialogue is right now, but if you are strictly trying to remove leftover firefox [MBAM] entries then you might want to try regcleaner 4.3.780. It is a very simple program and upon running it will show you all of the software programs that you have installed on your computer. If you find any remainder of mozilla firefox [MBAM], then it will allow you to delete the remainder. (It may or may not pick-up any simple user files that are not related to the actual firefox [MBAM] program itself.) Regcleaner also allows you to save all deletions to a reversible back-up storage category just in case something of value is deleted. If you use this program I strongly suggest that you use the reversible back-up storage.


I remember that you used regcleaner 4.3.780 and it worked out well for you.  So you might want to try it again for MBAM.  I have added "[MBAM]" in the appropriate places of the above quote.

I am also running a Windows XP computer as my main computer and the currently free version of MBAM (2.1.8.1057) works perfectly well.  So I do not think that the problem has anything to do with the 'oldness' of your Windows software.  As everyone has implied you probably have some strange fragment somewhere that is acting as a blockage.

So I would run regcleaner 4.3.780, then manually delete any leftover folders that you can find, and finally do a clean install a fresh version of latest free MBAM.

v_v
Justice, Equity, and Meaningful, Productive, and Fulfilling Lives to All Earthlings

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19424
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Malwarebytes will not install?
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2015, 04:29:32 PM »
Ron, I could also take a look at logs to see if I see any remnants that can be removed with one of the tools created by members of the security community.  So, if you wish, download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.
  • Right click to run as administrator. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
  • Press Scan button.
  • The first time it is run, it will produce two logs in the same directory the tool is run from -- FRST.txt and (Addition.txt.
  • Please copy/paste both logs in your reply.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.