Author Topic: Getting on the internet  (Read 10156 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Getting on the internet
« on: March 15, 2018, 07:59:43 PM »
The problem I am having started on Sun. When I turn on the computer on the bottom right hand side there is something that looks like a tv, most times a green circle will turn for a few minutes & then go away. I then can go on the internet. Now the green circle does not turn & after a few minutes a triangle comes up & say no internet connection.

I called my internet provider & they said to disconnect the power & then the internet came on, this was Mon. Tue same thing happened I called back & they sent someone out, he said the modem was not working right. I got a new one he checked it out & said it was good to go. Later that night I tried to go on & same thing happened, called back this morning & they again sent someone out. He said the modem was working fine as he hooked it up to his laptop.

If you unplug the power to the modem box after the triangle comes on then you get a internet connection. He had no idea what is causing this but said on their end it is working fine so it must be the computer.

I have Windows 7 & the tower is 4 years old. It is a Dell desktop. I am not good on the computer so if anyone can help please explain what to do in easy instructions. I have gotten help from you before so I hope you can help again.

Thanks
Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19656
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2018, 09:27:20 PM »
Hi, Mary.  The next time that happens, right-click on the Internet access icon and select "Troubleshooting" and follow the steps for Internet Connections. 

If that doesn't work, try the following:

Please copy/paste the lines in bold below to Notepad:

@Echo on
pushd\windows\system32\drivers\etc
attrib -h -s -r hosts
echo 127.0.0.1 localhost>HOSTS
attrib +r +h +s hosts
popd
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /flushdns
netsh winsock reset all
netsh int ip reset all
shutdown -r -t 1
del %0

Save as flush.bat to your desktop.
Right-click flush.bat file to run it. Your computer will reboot.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2018, 09:51:01 PM »
Hi Corrine,

The service man did the troubleshooting thing & it said if I can remember right something about not connected correctly.

Now on the next one you said to do, I am the one who knows nothing about the computer. I know how to copy/paste but don't know how to paste to Notepad or how to save as flush.bat to desktop.

I am sorry I don't know more about this computer & how it works but I will try anything as long as you tell me how to do it.

Thanks
Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19656
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2018, 11:31:20 PM »
 First things first, then.  Since Troubleshooting indicating something not connected correctly, it is best to start with that.  I'm not a network expert but will do my best to help and if I can't, I'm sure someone else here can.

The next time it happens, right-click the Internet Connection Icon and select Troubleshooting and follow the steps for Internet Connections.  Please make a note of any errors or indication of something not connected correctly.  If possible make a screen copy, save it and attach it to your reply.  (Let us know if you need help using the Snipping Tool to make the copy.)


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2018, 07:59:26 PM »
Ok, here is what the troubleshoot problem says:

Windows can't communicate with the device or resource )Primary DNS server)   then on the right side it says Detector.

I did not copy because I hit troubleshoot & wrote down what it said before I read your reply. If needed I will copy the next time I try to get on.

Like I said if I disconnect the power from the modem & then the internet connection I then can get on.

Thanks
Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19656
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2018, 09:06:27 PM »
Hi, Mary.  Let's see if this solves the problem:

1. Click on Start and then Control Panel.
2. Go to "Networking and sharing center" and then click on "Change adapter settings".
3. Right-click on "Local Area Connection" and choose "Properties".
4. Highlight Internet Protocol Version 6 and click on "Properties".
5. Choose "Obtain DNS server address automatically" and press Ok.
6. Choose "Obtain IP address automatically".
7. Go back to Step #4 and repeat the steps for Internet Protocol Version 4.

Restart your computer and let us know if you are able to connect to the Internet without needing to disconnect the power from the modem.

Note:  I created a screen capture with a sample of what the screens will look like and attached it.  Just click the image below to view it.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2018, 09:55:54 PM »
Hi Corrine,

I did what you told me to do, everything was already marked but I still did just what you said. Shut it down but still could not get on till I pulled the wires & connected.

I am sorry to be such a pain but nothing was done any different so I don't know what to do.

When I turned it back on before disconnecting  the wires I went on troubleshoot as I was going to try & copy what it said but not being on the internet I could not copy, sorry.

To read what you say I have to get back on the internet each time.

Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19656
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2018, 10:29:41 PM »
You're not being a pain, Mary.  You are seeking help.  So, let's see if I can provide clear instructions for what I gave you before.

1.  Type notepad into the Start Menu search box.  When it shows up, click it to open.
2.  Copy/paste the lines in bold below to Notepad:

@Echo on
pushd\windows\system32\drivers\etc
attrib -h -s -r hosts
echo 127.0.0.1 localhost>HOSTS
attrib +r +h +s hosts
popd
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /flushdns
netsh winsock reset all
netsh int ip reset all
shutdown -r -t 1
del %0


3. In Notepad, click "File" and select "Save as" flush.bat on your desktop. (See attachment for how it will look.)

Note:  In the window that opens up to save the file, the field where it shows "File name:" *txt will be highlighted.  Delete *txt and type flush.bat

4. Right-click the flush.bat file you saved to run it. Your computer will restart.

Again, let us know what happens when you attempt to connect to the Internet.  (Fingers crossed.  :) )


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2018, 06:29:50 PM »
I did just what you said & when it shut down the same thing happened, I can't get on.

This time when I hit troubleshoot I got a different message then the last time. Here is what is says:

A problem is preventing the trouble shooter from starting.  Then on the side it said the following.

Package ID    unknown
Path               C:\windows\diagnostics\system\networking
Error code       0x80070427
Source             engine
User                mary-PC\mary
Context           restricted


Don't know if this makes a difference but I thought it might

Thanks & Happy St. Patrick's Day
Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19656
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2018, 09:42:57 PM »
Happy St. Patrick's Day, Mary!

I found a number of examples of the same error but in only one discussion was the troubleshooting for the error message solved. 

1.  Type services in the Windows search box and click it to open when "Services Desktop app" appears.
2.  Scroll down the column until you reach Cryptographic Services and click on it to highlight it.
3.  Look to the Status column to the right of the name. 
     -- If it shows "Running" move to step 4.
     -- If it shows "Stopped", click Restart in the upper left column and then move to step 4.
4.  Next check the "Startup Type" column. 
     -- If it has "Automatic" close the Services window and let me know if it was Running or Stopped.
     -- If it does NOT show "Automatic" right-click on Cryptographic Services and click the drop-down arrow, select Automatic, click Apply, click Ok and close that window followed by closing the Services window.

A screen copy of what you can expect to see is attached.

Does Troubleshoot work now?


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1066
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2018, 03:05:39 PM »
I have to admit upfront, I don't know what your problem is but some more information might help.

For your network device(s) do you have a separate modem and router? Or is it one integrated device?

How does this computer connect to your network? Is it by Ethernet (a cable from your computer to a port on the router/modem)? Or via a wireless connection?

If you connect through Ethernet, I would swap Ethernet cables. These are very inexpensive, low-tech but very critical (and often overlooked) network devices that unfortunately, are often poorly made and/or easily damaged.

Most long time computer users typically have spare Ethernet cables stuck in drawer somewhere. If not, Walmart or Best Buy will have a wide selection in various lengths and colors. You just want to make sure it is Cat-5e or Cat-6 (it will be clearly printed on the package).

Also, if you connect via Ethernet cable, try a different Ethernet port on the back of your router/modem. These can go bad too.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2018, 07:12:19 PM »
Hi Corrine,

I did just what you said & here is what was on Cryptographic Services

Description
    Provides fo...
Status
    Started
Startup Type
    Automatic
Log on as
   Network s...

Except for Status it all was as you stated.  Troubleshoot is now back to how I first explained it to you.

Digerati
   I don't know how much more information I can give you as to my problem.  I am one who does not know anything about the computer except how to turn it on & off & ask for help. I am trying to explain my problem as best as I can.

I have a new modem which I explained before, just a modem.

I have a cable from the  computer to the modem which was changed when the new modem was installed. The telephone/internet provider switched the cable to a different port on his 2nd visit.

I am sure you know a lot about computers & that is great but I don't so everything has to be explained to me & I am sorry about that.

Mary



Offline DonnaB

  • Malware Experts
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 815
  • Ms. Congeniality
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2018, 08:39:48 PM »
Hi Mary,

I am sorry if you answered this above, but I have to ask...

Who is your internet provider? In your last post you said that the telephone/internet provider switched the cable to a different port on his 2nd visit. Did he turn your computer off then back on again to ensure that your computer did connect before he left.

I would be calling them back and tell them they did not fix it on the 2nd visit and make sure they do not charge you for every time they come out to fix what should have been fixed right the first time.

"To achieve the impossible, it is precisely the unthinkable that must be thought."
Tom Robbins

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2018, 08:55:29 PM »
We live in a very rural area in TN. Our internet provider is our phone co. also. We have no choice this is the only internet provider in our area.

When the service man first came out the modem was not  working the way it should. Sorry but I can't remember just what he said when he connected it to his laptop. He then changed the modem & wires. He shut it off & it went back on.

Late that night I went to go on & could not so I called back & they sent another service man out the next day. When the 2nd man came out he was the one who changed the wire to another port & it was off at the time.

He then told me it was not the modem but something to do with the computer but he did not know how to help me with the computer.  They do not fix computers,  just provide the internet connection.

They do not charge for this service as we have to pay a monthly fee. I do not think it is the internet provider but I could be wrong

Mary.

Offline plodr

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1151
    • View Profile
Re: Getting on the internet
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2018, 09:06:11 PM »
You only have 1 computer? Is that correct?

How many ports does the modem have?

Are there any names on the modem? (look at the front, back and on the bottom).