LandzDown Forum

Software & More => Computer Problems, Questions and Solutions! => Topic started by: mary3444 on April 24, 2019, 09:19:43 PM

Title: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 24, 2019, 09:19:43 PM
When I purchase something online or get a sample I am then asked for a review of the product. I then answer all the questions hit the button but nothing happens. The page is never sent. This has happened at Walmart, Amazon & misc sites.

I am sure I am doing something wrong but I don't know what or if there is something missing on the computer, it is about 6 months old.

A reminder I have Windows 10 with Firefox & I am not good on this computer.

As always thank you
Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 24, 2019, 09:35:37 PM
Have you gone back later to see if your review was posted? They often are posted immediate because the sites want to review your review to make sure you are a legitimate buyer and not someone from the seller trying to pump up the review ratings.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 25, 2019, 01:22:55 AM
I know Amazon doesn't post reviews immediately.  They are, as Digerati said, reviewed first.  I suspect that it is necessary at that type of site to prevent spam.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 25, 2019, 12:55:18 PM
Sorry, I did not proof read my comment before posting.  :-[

I meant to say, "they often are not posted immediately because...".
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 25, 2019, 02:02:15 PM
Just goes to show that I know you and read the sentence as you meant it, filling in the word as if was there.  :)
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 25, 2019, 02:36:39 PM
LOL Funny how the mind works. :)
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: winchester73 on April 25, 2019, 05:43:16 PM
Mary, I have an issue now and then with Firefox not cooperating on things like this, and have to use another browser.  Have you tried the Microsoft Edge browser that comes with Windows 10?
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 25, 2019, 07:09:00 PM
I do know that  it takes time for the review to show. I have waited up to 2 days & it never comes up. when I finish the review & hit post, enter or what ever it says at the end nothing happens, the page just sits there. this has happened since I got this new computer.

Winchester, I have Microsoft edge but when I hit that it comes up with different items you can go on don't know how that would help me. Like I have said I do not know anything about the computer or Windows 10. When I had my old computer I could give my opinion on a purchase.

Am I doing something wrong or missing something on here that I have not down loaded.

Thanks everyone for trying to help me

Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 26, 2019, 02:17:38 PM
Quote
I do know that  it takes time for the review to show. I have waited up to 2 days & it never comes up. when I finish the review & hit post, enter or what ever it says at the end nothing happens, the page just sits there. this has happened since I got this new computer.
The thing is, submitting a review would be no different from submitting a reply on this site, or entering your log-in credentials on your bank's log-in page. If that information is being accepted on those sites, then I don't see how it could be a "problem" (as in a defect, bug or fault) with your computer, Windows 10 or even your browser.

Are you using a pop-up or ad-blocker?
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 26, 2019, 09:14:59 PM
Hi, Yes I am using a ad-blocker. This is uBlock Origin. The one you guys said was good.
Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 26, 2019, 10:02:44 PM
I know uBlock Origin wouldn't cause any issues posting reviews at Amazon since I recently ordered a couple things from there and have used both Pale Moon and Microsoft Edge with uBlock Origin to post feedback. 

I don't understand what you meant by
Quote
Winchester, I have Microsoft edge but when I hit that it comes up with different items you can go on don't know how that would help me. Like I have said I do not know anything about the computer or Windows 10. When I had my old computer I could give my opinion on a purchase.

Aren't you clicking a link in email to provide a review?  That would take you to the correct item.  If you aren't responding from an email, try having the page open with Firefox and copy the URL and paste it in a new tab in Microsoft Edge.  See if that works.  (Of course, don't forget to log on to your account.)
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 27, 2019, 01:44:06 PM
Quote
(Of course, don't forget to log on to your account.)
I was wondering about this. Pretty sure for most, if not all sites, you have to be logged in as this allows the site to verify you actually purchased the item under review.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 27, 2019, 08:46:19 PM
It is so hard for me to explain but I am going to try. I got a box of free samples from PINCHme. Some of the items they want you to do a "external review so you hit start & it brongs you to a site that sells the item. In this case it was Chewy.com.

I went down & gave a review on a can of cat food. When finished I hit enter & nothing happens. This has happened for other things I have gotten from PINCHme.

Another site that sends free full size samples sends you a e-mail asking for a review. I hit that go to their page & when finished it says "opps something must be wrong, try again, which I do. Same thing happens. About a week later I will get another e-mail from the same place asking again for a review.

The thing is when I had Windows 7 I use to do this all the time, now with Windows 10 I can't.

Just thought I was doing something wrong.

Sorry to be such a pain.

Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 27, 2019, 09:12:02 PM
You aren't a pain, Mary. 

Let's start with Chewy.com. Going to the site, I selected Greenies Feline SmartBites (https://www.chewy.com/greenies-feline-smartbites-healthy/dp/37597) and clicked on reviews.  In order to provide a review, it is necessary to sign in as a returning customer or create an account as a new customer (this page (https://www.chewy.com/app/login?targetUrl=%2Fapp%2Fwrite-review%3Fid%3D37597)). 

So, the question is, do you already have an account at Chewy.com?  If so, you need to logon first.  If not, you'd have to create an account first in order to provide a review.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 27, 2019, 09:43:37 PM
Thanks, Corrine,

Yes I do have a account on Chewy & I was signed in. Also I have a account on Walmart, signed in & could not give a review on a item I just got last week.

My reviews will not go through & I don't know why.

Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 28, 2019, 01:06:07 PM
Quote
Hi, Yes I am using a ad-blocker. This is uBlock Origin. The one you guys said was good.
And have you disabled uBlock for those sites? That might be the problem.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Pete! on April 28, 2019, 07:52:58 PM
I use Firefox for most websites, but there are two of my usual sites where certain functions just don't work as well as they do with Edge. Disabling add-ons doesn't seem to improve things.

I'm nor saying there's anything special about Edge, but with Windows 10, I've got Edge anyway, and those particular site/functions work better.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Digerati on April 28, 2019, 08:12:37 PM
Just to ensure we are on the same page, when I suggested disabling uBlock for those sites, I didn't mean to disable the uBlock add-on. I meant to tell uBlock to disable it's blocking on those sites. uBlock itself is still enabled, it is just treating those sites as safe. This is something commonly required on sites you trust.

Quote
I'm nor saying there's anything special about Edge, but with Windows 10, I've got Edge anyway, and those particular site/functions work better.
Microsoft is pushing hard to get Edge to the point where you can say there's something special about it!
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 28, 2019, 08:36:00 PM
Happy Sunday to everyone,

Digerati, I did try to disable uBlock but that did not work on any site I was on.

Pete, It took me quite a while to use Microsoft Edge. I don't understand the computer but after a few tries I was able to get where I wanted to go while on Edge. I was able to go back to a few sites & give my reviews which went through.

Everyone on here are my lifesavers, I think without you guys the computer would have gone to the dump a long time ago. I know sometimes I have silly questions & can't explain what my problem is but all of you just listen & in the long run always help me.

Thanks again

Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: winchester73 on April 28, 2019, 11:12:55 PM
I use Firefox for most websites, but there are two of my usual sites where certain functions just don't work as well as they do with Edge. Disabling add-ons doesn't seem to improve things.

I'm nor saying there's anything special about Edge, but with Windows 10, I've got Edge anyway, and those particular site/functions work better.

Same here

Mary, glad your reviews got posted 👍
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 29, 2019, 12:55:35 AM
Glad you were able to post your reviews, Mary.  As to questions, it is the only way to learn so just ask. 

By the way, have you installed uBlock origin on Microsoft Edge yet?  It is available in the Microsoft store:  https://www.microsoft.com/store/productId/9NBLGGH444L4
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Pete! on April 29, 2019, 02:53:27 PM
I use Firefox for most websites, but there are two of my usual sites where certain functions just don't work as well as they do with Edge. Disabling add-ons doesn't seem to improve things.

I'm nor saying there's anything special about Edge, but with Windows 10, I've got Edge anyway, and those particular site/functions work better.

Same here....
Off topic:
Prior to the "Australis" changes in FF (about version 29?) it worked fine on those sites.
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: mary3444 on April 29, 2019, 09:08:25 PM
Corrine,
Thanks , on Microsoft Edge I did not have uBlock. Took some time but I did get it done.

winchester73,
Thanks

Pete,
Maybe your topic was not for me, if it was I don't know what this was.

Again, thanks everyone

Mary
Title: Re: Review online
Post by: Corrine on April 29, 2019, 10:28:09 PM
Glad you got uBlock installed on Edge, Mary. 

As to Pete's reference, it was due to changes Mozilla made to Firefox that it stopped working on pages where it used to work previously -- which is just as you experienced when attempting to post reviews.