Author Topic: Review online  (Read 1989 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Review online
« on: April 24, 2019, 09:19:43 PM »
When I purchase something online or get a sample I am then asked for a review of the product. I then answer all the questions hit the button but nothing happens. The page is never sent. This has happened at Walmart, Amazon & misc sites.

I am sure I am doing something wrong but I don't know what or if there is something missing on the computer, it is about 6 months old.

A reminder I have Windows 10 with Firefox & I am not good on this computer.

As always thank you
Mary

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1046
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2019, 09:35:37 PM »
Have you gone back later to see if your review was posted? They often are posted immediate because the sites want to review your review to make sure you are a legitimate buyer and not someone from the seller trying to pump up the review ratings.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19507
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Review online
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2019, 01:22:55 AM »
I know Amazon doesn't post reviews immediately.  They are, as Digerati said, reviewed first.  I suspect that it is necessary at that type of site to prevent spam.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1046
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2019, 12:55:18 PM »
Sorry, I did not proof read my comment before posting.  :-[

I meant to say, "they often are not posted immediately because...".
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19507
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Review online
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2019, 02:02:15 PM »
Just goes to show that I know you and read the sentence as you meant it, filling in the word as if was there.  :)


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1046
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2019, 02:36:39 PM »
LOL Funny how the mind works. :)
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline winchester73

  • Half a bubble off plumb
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7213
  • Liverpool FC - YNWA
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2019, 05:43:16 PM »
Mary, I have an issue now and then with Firefox not cooperating on things like this, and have to use another browser.  Have you tried the Microsoft Edge browser that comes with Windows 10?
Speak softly, but carry a big Winchester ... Winchester Arms Collectors Association member

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2019, 07:09:00 PM »
I do know that  it takes time for the review to show. I have waited up to 2 days & it never comes up. when I finish the review & hit post, enter or what ever it says at the end nothing happens, the page just sits there. this has happened since I got this new computer.

Winchester, I have Microsoft edge but when I hit that it comes up with different items you can go on don't know how that would help me. Like I have said I do not know anything about the computer or Windows 10. When I had my old computer I could give my opinion on a purchase.

Am I doing something wrong or missing something on here that I have not down loaded.

Thanks everyone for trying to help me

Mary

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1046
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2019, 02:17:38 PM »
Quote
I do know that  it takes time for the review to show. I have waited up to 2 days & it never comes up. when I finish the review & hit post, enter or what ever it says at the end nothing happens, the page just sits there. this has happened since I got this new computer.
The thing is, submitting a review would be no different from submitting a reply on this site, or entering your log-in credentials on your bank's log-in page. If that information is being accepted on those sites, then I don't see how it could be a "problem" (as in a defect, bug or fault) with your computer, Windows 10 or even your browser.

Are you using a pop-up or ad-blocker?
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2019, 09:14:59 PM »
Hi, Yes I am using a ad-blocker. This is uBlock Origin. The one you guys said was good.
Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19507
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Review online
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2019, 10:02:44 PM »
I know uBlock Origin wouldn't cause any issues posting reviews at Amazon since I recently ordered a couple things from there and have used both Pale Moon and Microsoft Edge with uBlock Origin to post feedback. 

I don't understand what you meant by
Quote
Winchester, I have Microsoft edge but when I hit that it comes up with different items you can go on don't know how that would help me. Like I have said I do not know anything about the computer or Windows 10. When I had my old computer I could give my opinion on a purchase.

Aren't you clicking a link in email to provide a review?  That would take you to the correct item.  If you aren't responding from an email, try having the page open with Firefox and copy the URL and paste it in a new tab in Microsoft Edge.  See if that works.  (Of course, don't forget to log on to your account.)


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline Digerati

  • LzD Friends
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1046
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2019, 01:44:06 PM »
Quote
(Of course, don't forget to log on to your account.)
I was wondering about this. Pretty sure for most, if not all sites, you have to be logged in as this allows the site to verify you actually purchased the item under review.
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2018

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2019, 08:46:19 PM »
It is so hard for me to explain but I am going to try. I got a box of free samples from PINCHme. Some of the items they want you to do a "external review so you hit start & it brongs you to a site that sells the item. In this case it was Chewy.com.

I went down & gave a review on a can of cat food. When finished I hit enter & nothing happens. This has happened for other things I have gotten from PINCHme.

Another site that sends free full size samples sends you a e-mail asking for a review. I hit that go to their page & when finished it says "opps something must be wrong, try again, which I do. Same thing happens. About a week later I will get another e-mail from the same place asking again for a review.

The thing is when I had Windows 7 I use to do this all the time, now with Windows 10 I can't.

Just thought I was doing something wrong.

Sorry to be such a pain.

Mary

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19507
  • "Stronger than the past, united in our goal."
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Review online
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2019, 09:12:02 PM »
You aren't a pain, Mary. 

Let's start with Chewy.com. Going to the site, I selected Greenies Feline SmartBites and clicked on reviews.  In order to provide a review, it is necessary to sign in as a returning customer or create an account as a new customer (this page). 

So, the question is, do you already have an account at Chewy.com?  If so, you need to logon first.  If not, you'd have to create an account first in order to provide a review.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline mary3444

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: Review online
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2019, 09:43:37 PM »
Thanks, Corrine,

Yes I do have a account on Chewy & I was signed in. Also I have a account on Walmart, signed in & could not give a review on a item I just got last week.

My reviews will not go through & I don't know why.

Mary