HP Deskjet 2540 not printing Black very dark

Started by 2harts4ever, April 26, 2016, 07:23:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2harts4ever

Howdy,

I was trying to print off some forms this morning on my HP Deskjet 2540 printer and for some reason any 'type' normally showing in "black' was appearing as a light grey when printed.  I have been using this Printer for two or three years and never ran into this problem.

It appears a setting as been changed but my 74-year-old mind can't get a handle on it.

Any ideas?

Thanks and regards,
2harts4ever

" ... Nuff Said.  Keep Smiling Because I'm Smiling Too ..."

winchester73

What happens when you print a test page?

Maybe the greyscale option in the print driver got changed?

Click on the Start menu, then Devices and Printers. Right-click on your printer. Select Printing Preferences and click on the Paper/Quality tab.

Is the greyscale on or off?

If on, turn it off and see if that helps (Click Apply to save any changes. Click OK to close the window)
Speak softly, but carry a big Winchester ... Winchester Arms Collectors Association member

2harts4ever

Hi winchester73,

(1) When I print a test page the color come3s out find but the black is very light, more like grey instead of black.

(2) Greyscale option is 'off'

(3) Tried changing it to 'on' but same problem.

It seems all I am doing is wasting paper ...lol

I already cleared the print heads, etc. but no help.  I just used the printer about a week ago and all was well.

Thanks and regards,
2harts4ever

DR M

What if you print a page directly from the printer? E.g. copy something?

If this is ok, what happens if you turn the printer off, then turn it on again and print from the computer?

Grecian Geek

"Count your blessings, remember your prayers..."

"In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars will be laughing when you look at the sky at night.. You, only you, will have stars that can laugh..."