LandzDown Forum

Software & More => Internet => Topic started by: Boz on April 30, 2018, 12:15:52 PM

Title: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Boz on April 30, 2018, 12:15:52 PM
Hi everyone!

I was wondering if there is any other web browser that has print preview, print selection, and custom scaling like Internet Explorer?

I thought I had read that Edge would be getting these features like IE has, but as far as I can tell, Edge doesn't currently/yet have print selection and custom scaling.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Digerati on April 30, 2018, 12:33:24 PM
I just looked at Chrome, Edge, IE and Firefox and PaleMoon. As far as I can tell, IE is the only one that does NOT have scaling other than fit to page - including Edge.  Not sure what you mean by print selection. But they all have preview too.
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Boz on April 30, 2018, 12:47:06 PM
I'm not sure what you're talking about.

I'm talking about every IE version I remember using within the last 15 years.

Select some text on a web page, right click on it, select print preview.  In the window that opens, there are dropdown options of As laid out on screen or As selected on screen.  There is also a dropdown option, starting with Shrink To Fit, then 12 preset percentages, and custom, where any percentage between 30% and 999% can be entered.

Are you using some obscure version of IE without those options?
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Digerati on April 30, 2018, 03:13:53 PM
You didn't say anything in your opening post about "right-click" options. Now I see what you are talking about.

Chrome has it.
Pale Moon does not.
Edge does not.
Firefox does not.
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Aaron Hulett on April 30, 2018, 03:17:04 PM
Firefox has scaling and print selection only, but they're not really well put together, such as you can't choose selection when in print preview. Chrome is much better.
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Digerati on April 30, 2018, 03:35:19 PM
Quote
Firefox has scaling and print selection only
Yes, but not via the mouse's right-click context menu option.

It would be nice if they all had that. I forgot IE did.
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Boz on May 01, 2018, 01:31:56 PM
Thank you for the replies!

I guess Chrome is the only browser that has the closest print options to what IE has.

It's disappointing that Edge hasn't matched what IE has for print options.
Title: Re: Web Browser With Print Preview & Print Selection & Custom Scaling?
Post by: Corrine on May 01, 2018, 03:43:29 PM
You could add comments to or at least upvote in the Feedback Hub.  Some are rather old but the more upvotes/comments the better.

Lots on scaling but not specific to print scaling although I found this one:
Microsoft Edge - Print:  https://aka.ms/AA1616l

There are a lot for "print selection".  Just a couple examples:

Add the ability to print just selected content or an image: https://aka.ms/AA1616o
Print Selection in Edge browser:  https://aka.ms/AA1616r

If you aren't familiar with the Feedback Hub, when you click the link, with Edge, it will open a new tab and then a popup asking if you meant to switch apps.  With other browsers, when the page opens, you'll be asked if you want to launch TWINUI.